top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAzeem Malik

Soya Sauce Chow Mein

This is a staple dish in any Hong Kong style restaurant that serves brunch and lunch. It’s one of my favorites as it is simple, and you can switch out ingredients as you need. I’m allergic to shellfish and do not like fish so I do not add seafood, but I know many places that add shrimp to this dish.


It’s great on its own or served with congee (rice porridge). I like my noodle dishes spicier so I

usually add chili oil to it. If I know I’m serving kids, I will separate out a portion for them before adding the chili oil.


Ingredients

  • 1 pkg of chow mein egg noodles. (Can substitute with spaghetti, udon noodles, or shanghai noodles)

  • 6-7 leaves of Napa cabbage

  • 1/4 cup of Chives , chopped into 2 inch pieces

  • 2 Chicken breasts or any preferred protein

  • 4 tsp salt

  • 4 tsp sugar

  • 2 tsp white pepper

  • 2.5 tbsp corn starch

  • 4 tbsp of vegetable oil

  • Optional: bean sprouts- sadly, I did not have any at the time of creating this dish

  • 1/3 cup Kung Fu soya sauce

  • 4 tbsp Pearl River Dark soya sauce to darken the dish

  • Optional: Chili Oil and Sesame Oil


Other ingredients you could add are bell peppers, shrimp, squid, broccoli, the possibilities are endless. I chose to use Kung Fu soya sauce as my mom uses this one and it is the only one that I can have without feeling ill after.


Preparation


1. Cut chicken breasts into 1-inch strips, add 3 tbsp of Kung Fu soya sauce, corn starch, 2

tsp salt and white pepper, mix with until all ingredients are mixed, and chicken is

covered. You can let this sit until ready to cook or use it right away.


2. Bring a pot of water to boil and add chow mein egg noodles. Stirring occasionally to

make sure they don’t stick. After 5 mins, remove from heat, strain and rinse with cold

water. Once noodles are cool, lay out flat on a pan to dry. This usually takes a good

hour.


3. In a wok, add chicken, cook until slightly golden brown, add nappa and other veggies,

cook until nappa is cooked. You can tell it is ready when it’s shrunken in size and looks a

bit translucent.


4. Add egg noodles, toss everything together, add chives or green onion and cook for 5-7

mins, add remaining salt, sugar, soya sauce and sesame oil.


5. For added heat, chili oil in the amount you prefer is great for this dish. Personally, I add

about 2 teaspoons.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page